Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Getting back to my Proverbs 31 study, I’m taking a look at verses 15, and I see here a good example of how the excellent wife is a good steward before the Lord. Now, there are some practical things that can definitely be mentioned, but I want to focus on the stewardship aspect here.

She rises also while it is still night and gives food to her household and portions to her maidens. – vs. 15

Jesus told his disciples a parable of the faithful steward in Luke 12:41-48, and I want to share a portion of that here:

And the Lord said, “Who then is the faithful and sensible steward, whom his master will put in charge of his servants, to give them their rations at the proper time? Blessed is that slave whom his master finds so doing when he comes. Truly I say to you that he will put him in charge of all his possessions.”

When I consider being a wife and a homemaker, I often get self-centered, thinking that my home and what I do is mine alone. However, as a creation of God, all things belong to Him. Furthermore, as a child of God, I think that it is important to keep the heart and mind of a servant, and this is even more important when you desire to be the excellent wife of Scripture.

The excellent wife is one who does her work as unto the Lord. She is faithful in completing her tasks, and she goes about all her work with the mindset that she will be held accountable to the Lord for everything that she does, and nothing will escape His eye. She cares for every member of her household, from her husband and children to the hired help. She makes sure that everyone has what they individually need to do their work each day, and she is not lazy or careless in doing it.

In essence, you can say that God has set the wife as the steward of the home and will hold the wife responsible for it. I know plenty of women quickly say that God set men as the spiritual heads of their wives and families, and they will have to give an account for that. And this is true. But in the same sense, the wife is the God-ordained manager of the home, and she will have to give an account for her work, or the lack thereof, as well.

For me, this is very humbling to realize…to know that God is holding me accountable for the actual day-to-day operations of my home. But it is also very exciting because God has placed value on what many people discredit: wives who run their homes exceptionally well. Personally, I was blessed to witness wives running their homes extremely well in our Colorado church, and I am more than glad I paid attention to them. In fact, God has blessed me with many examples over the years of how I can run my home better and how to use my time wisely. What I’m learning is allowing me to be a lot less stressed as a homemaker and much more peaceful and joyful, and that has resulted in a home that is free of tension and filled with peace and joy of the Lord. Why? Because I am being faithful in the task that He has set me over to fulfill, and I know that my faithfulness is pleasing to Him.

I pray that all wives are truly faithful stewards of the homes that God has placed them over for His good pleasure and glory.

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. For the wrongdoer will be paid back for the wrong he has done, and there is no partiality. – Colossians 3:23-25

