Tags

, , , , ,

Being a homemaker now, I tend to have a lot more time on my hands (my little one can’t quite run around and make a mess yet). Thus, I have started to get back into my favorite pastime – reading! And yesterday, I finished an awesome book entitled The Case for Christ: A Journalist’s Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus by Lee Strobel.

Now, as the author eluded, this book is an investigation of the evidence surrounding Jesus Christ. The author sets out with 14 questions he is asking, and they are:

  • Can the biographies of Jesus (or the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) be trusted?
  • Do the biographies of Jesus stand up to scrutiny?
  • Were Jesus’ biographies reliably preserved for us?
  • Is there credible evidence for Jesus outside His biographies?
  • Does archaeology confirm or contradict Jesus?
  • Is the Jesus of History the same as the Jesus of faith?
  • Was Jesus really convinced that He was the Son of God?
  • Was Jesus crazy when He claimed to be the Son of God?
  • Did Jesus fulfill the attributes of God?
  • Did Jesus – and Jesus alone – match the identity of the Messiah?
  • Was Jesus’ death a sham and His resurrection a hoax?
  • Was Jesus’ body really absent from His tomb?
  • Was Jesus seen alive after His death on the cross?
  • Are there any supporting facts that point toward the resurrection?

Now, when I read this book, I wasn’t questioning my faith, but I have to admit, I never critically examined the evidence of Christ before. My faith was largely built upon hearing about Christ and being convicted within my own heart about the message. However, I know that a lot of people today are far more critical and skeptical than I was when it comes to Christ.

Therefore, if you fall into this group, I definitely encourage you to get this book and read it through. I enjoyed it because it was narrative and had good real-life stories in it, and even if you aren’t skeptical of Christianity or Jesus Christ, I think that it is good to have a solid defense for your faith that does not solely rest upon your feelings or personal experience too.

Whatever the case, I definitely recommend this as a great read, and I look forward to being able to use this book as I instruct my child later on about faith in Christ!

