Tags

, , , , ,

Having attended a HBCU and worked in residence life for a number of years, I had ample opportunity to witness many students “leave the faith”. I saw students start the academic year with their parent’s admonitions to go to church on Sundays and find a good Bible study. Yet, for many students, they took divergent paths after their parents left. Some students forgot church altogether, desiring a “break” from the normal routine they grew up with. Other students attended church regularly because it made them “feel better” about what they did during the week or the Friday and Saturday night before….trying to cleanse that conscience. Still other students decided to explore other faiths and belief systems. Then some students got overly involved in church or religious student organizations, devoting all of their time to these groups although there was very little accountability for the students running the group. Consequently, a lot of these students became jaded from their experience after group leaders were exposed in a myriad of sinful acts or scandals. Finally, occasionally I came across a few students who solidly held fast to their belief in God, and they were able to find a ministry that encouraged and exhorted them, while holding them accountable.

As a college student, I will be honest and say that I didn’t hold too much of a personal opinion of what people did around me. I was a PK (preacher’s kid), and I was well versed in all the church stuff. I guess when I went to college, I personally wanted a break from everything. So I looked for a church that was large enough that wouldn’t require me to have any responsibilities and that I could attend or not attend at my own leisure without being questioned. Honestly, I thank God for keeping me during those years because He didn’t have to. I escaped a lot of the foolishness that other students went through during that time, but I still had my fair share of things that I could have avoided.

Being a parent now of a beautiful little girl, my mind often turns to this question: How can I raise my daughter to love the Lord with all her heart, be aware of the things in this world, yet not love anything in the world? How can I raise her to hold fast to God in a culture that flees from any kind of commitment, even a commitment to God? How do I train her to be discerning and exercise godly wisdom when there are so many appealing things and deception in this world?

So, I don’t have a lot of answers to my questions right now, but I have started at one place. My husband and I got a copy of a book: Family Driven Faith: Doing what it takes to raise sons and daughters who walk with God by Voddie Baucham Jr.

If you are a parent, looking to get married soon, already have your home established….whatever…I definitely encourage you to get this book. For me, the book gave some really startling statistics about young people and how they abandon their relationship with God once they hit college. The book also talked about how churches can help or hinder young people’s relationship with God. Finally, the book spoke about how you can start as parents to train your children up in the admonition of the Lord, making the worship of God central in your home, and encouraging parents to live the Word of God at home in front of their children (this was the area that really impacted me).

This book presents a serious challenge to you as parents, as adults, and as Christians in today’s culture. I just wanted to throw out a good read for all of you who are endeavoring to make or keep God central in your home life and in the lives of your children. Get the book!

